Play Journal 2013-02-21: Joust… with swords!

by Thom Kiraly

Today – Organized a gaming event for youths in Lund. Coolest part was the three people who arrived an hour early begging me to let them play more Joust. They had been at the tuesday event, played Joust and, naturally, fallen in love with the game. 

BaraBariBall – A lot of my playing of the Sportsfriends games revolve around demoing them, which means I’m usually a bit better at the game than people playing them for the first time. No surprises there, perhaps, and I can handle it (I very much enjoy watching people figuring a new game out), but I really want to play with an experienced player (or three). One guy sorta caught on, though, but I had a hard time deciding whether or not to let him win or to give him a real challenge. I guess I ended up somewhere in between the two.

Joustwith swords! – Luck just so had it that, in the same space I was running Joust today, there was later going to be held a demonstration of LARP swords and taught some LARP swordfighting. Look, I really  don’t have to explain this. When you have the chance to play Joust using swords… you just do it, ok? Lots of foam swords to the face. Good fun. Here’s a picture:

Joust-ComUng1

And another one:

Joust-ComUng2

Hokra – Played a match to show how it worked. I want to play it more, and with an audience. That just might happen tomorrow night. Lovely, lovely, lovely game.

Super Smash Bros. Brawl – Two quick matches told me right away I’ve lost all the skill I had back in the N64 days of old. I also had a super (smash) hard time figuring out the controls split up on the nunchuck and the wiimote. A helpful lesson, maybe, for next time I take it for granted that new players know the difference between a bumper and a trigger.

Luigi’s Ghost Mansion (my first Wii U experience)- Only played one game and I don’t really have much to say other than that it looks like it’s much more fun being the ghost than trying to find the ghost (which is what I was (failing at) doing). This is similar to what sometimes happens in games with bluffing elements (The Resistance, the Battlestar Galactica Board Game etc) where one person/group sits on a lot of information while the others try to figure out who they are (aka. asymmetric information games): it is usually a much more thrilling experience for the traitors/bluffers/resistance.

