Play Journal LEA vol. 2 – Arbejd, arbejd

by Thom Kiraly

Saturday and Sunday were focused on writing larps, which means we had very little time for play. This was strange for me since I’m used to constantly playtesting and iterating my way through game designs based on these playtests. What little we played were playtests for others and, as is often the case with playtests, they weren’t all that enjoyable. I won’t write more than that. We played an unfinished and broken larp. It was strange and awkward… Surprise!

Danish Clapping – To energize our group, I taught them Danish Clapping. We then tried adopting it to our larp in order to use it as a warm-up exercise. Since our larp is about blindness, we used sounds instead of movements. It turned out to be pretty fun, and we actually ended up using it as a pre-game exercise when we ran our game on Tuesday night.

20130419-150356.jpg

Again, posts without pics. We do not want! So, here’s a pic.

This was a short post, so I’ll give you something more. It’s not a game, but it’s something I’ve spent a lot of time with. It’s one of the songs I’ve listened to on my much-needed walks after our 12 hour days: The Curse, by Josh Ritter

