An in-between thing I need to post before I move on to interesting (?) stuff

by Thom Kiraly

I quit my job a couple of weeks ago.

I guess a different way to put it is: A couple of weeks ago, I had my last day at my job as a project manager of Spelkultur i Skåne. It was planned, no hard feelings, but it does feel like I’m quitting a lot of stuff.

Parts of it has been rough, thankless and stressful . I regret some of what I’ve put myself through. At times, I’ve worked too hard and much for what amounted to basically insignificant results. I wonder if it’s like this for most similar projects and what kinds of castles in the air we are really building when we apply for them and carry them out.

This summer has been especially grueling and at times I thought I’d just call in sick and let whatever happened happen. Looking back, I’m happy I didn’t and I’m sad I didn’t.

Anyway… I did come to talk about play.

I believe that good play is something you need to work for, and that it’s worth it. That doesn’t mean that it has to be particularly hard or straining. It does mean that there’s a certain attitude and energy that permeates play and playful settings. This summer, I’ve often felt pretty far from playful. Most of the time, I’ve just been exhausted. Not just tired, exhausted. Exhausted as in empty. Exhausted as in spent.

I haven’t posted anything about my play experiences since… April. The topic back then was basically that I hadn’t written a lot. Not much has changed, but I have really have had some cool experiences. What I’ve lacked have been will or energy to write about them. I don’t have a load of time or energy to spare as it is now either, but I think the journal has been and will be helpful to have. Especially now that I’ve restarted my studies at ITU in Copenhagen.

 

No good ending to this almost-get-stuff-off-the-chest post, so here’s a picture of a floating hand:
Flotaing Hand

